Bio Art & Design Award

The Bio Art & Design Award (formerly known as Designers & Artist 4 Genomics Award), BAD Award for short, is a unique competition that aims at stimulating young artists and designers from The Netherlands and abroad to experiment with bioart and design and to collaborate with renowned Dutch science centers.

BAD Award aims to:

  • stimulate interest, excitement and debate about the Life Sciences through high-quality, original artistic practice
  • examine the social, cultural and ethical contexts of the Life Sciences through the arts
  • promote high-quality interdisciplinary practice and collaborations between art/ design and science/technology

The BAD Awards of €25,000,- each are assigned by an international jury to the most promising and original proposals in the competition. The projects are consequently realised within six months and exhibited. Some contestants who do not get an Award still find other ways to realise their ideas.

Technological developments in the Life Sciences have a large impact on society, therefore it is important to stimulate a dialogue with society and to enhance public engagement. The displayed works stimulate interest and debate through high-quality, original artistic practice and attract national and international attention in the media.

The young artists and designers who win this competition often get a head start in their artistic careers. The BAD Award functions as a springboard, either for new nominations or BAD Awards, new or extended collaborations, grants, positions or new publications.

The international Bio Art & Design Award jury consists of independent experts. The chairman of the Jury will be William Myers (author of Bio Design). In 2014 the other Jury members were: Hans Clevers (KNAW), Geert Verbeke (Verbeke Foundation, tbc), Karen Verschooren (Z33) en Hub Zwart (Centre for Society and the Life Sciences).

The Bio Art & Design Award is a product of collaboration between NWO (Dutch Research Council – Earth and Life Sciences, Humanities, The Hague), ZonMW (Medical Research Council, The Hague), MU Artspace (Eindhoven) and BioArt Laboratories (Eindhoven). The name Designers and Artists for Genomics Award was used in the years 2010-2013, see also